Fear in it’s various forms…

Welcome to the De-Ann Lott Music blog.  This is the debut blog for the website.  I’ve been thinking alot about how to use this space and make it meaningful without it being daunting or too heavy or frivolous.  There’s alot going on in the world, in our nation, in our communities, our families and our lives.  It’s fitting, in my opinion,  to be able to discuss what we see and hear in our experiences throughout our lives.  Just yesterday, I had a hankering for some soup, Tom Kha Gai Thai Soup.  I ordered my soup to go and sat patiently at the table I was directed to by the wait staff.  With not much going on besides the rumbling of my stomach, I fell prey to ear hustling.  I heard the conversation between two diners discussing the upcoming election.  One man, began discussing the calm and steady temperament of Senator Barack Obama.  It sounded like a pretty neutral comment on the surface.  So my ears began to redirect to other discussion.  I was drawn back when The other diner, interjected with an “aha” and somewhat cynical comment stating he knew the secret for Senator Obama’s calm demeanor.  Well, of course, I was drawn in.  My ears perked up and I wanted to get to the new revelation.  The cynical dinner stated that Senator Obama was a smoker who bummed cigarettes frequently and the nicotine was the reason for his demeanor.  He went on to comment, “who wants someone like that to run their country when he can’t control his own addictions?”  I never heard a reply from the fellow dinner.  And because I was ear hustling I wasn’t free to engage in conversation about this matter without appearing aggressive or defensive.  So I did what I typically do…I thought about it. 

I don’t know about you,  but in every print or television interview that Senator Obama has been asked about his smoking, he’s been forth coming.  This conversation of the cynical diner  was old news but it was clear that this person had not read any interviews or gone beyond the sound bites.  He clearly thought that he had a earth shattering Revelation.  I started thinking about what is beneath the conversation.  And what dawned on me is that it really comes down to fear.  We are afraid of change.  We are afraid of leveling the playing field, particularly when the distribution of resources is at stake.  What we often fail to realize is that there is enough for everyone.  It is the nature of humans  and our need for superiority and exploitation that promotes the notion of scarcity and reinforces continued fear based behaviors. 

What do you think?

One Response to “Fear in it’s various forms…”

  1. susangela Says:

    Yesterday I heard Senator Obama reading from the chapter on Constitutional Law in his book The Audacity of Hope on NPR. I was stuck by the depth of his knowledge on this subject (Duh, of course he was a University of Chicago professor for 10 years)it made me begin to wonder who had dumbed down the discourse of the election. Why is it seen as a negative when he sounds “professorial” in a debate? How could the future of our county be decided by the “undecidedes” who base their decisions on soundbites and fear? Without sharing the distribution of education I fear we are doomed.

Leave a Reply

